Local Authors Receive National Recognition from Florida Publishers


The Florida Authors and Publishers Association recently recognized several local authors for the quality of their work, presenting them with the President’s Book Awards at its annual conference in Lake Buena Vista.

The winners were:

"Incognito" by Terry Lewis (Moonshine Cove Publishing 2021).

Incognito by Terry Lewis, in the General Fiction category for adults, as a gold medalist;

Incognito by Terry Lewis, in the Mystery / Suspense category, as gold medalist;

Incognito by Terry Lewis, in the Historical Fiction category, as a bronze medalist;

Crazy, Lazy Corn by Hank Bass and Kome Onokpise, in the non-fiction category for young adults, as the winner of the silver medal;

The mathematical investigations of Dr. O and Arya, by Arya Ökten and Giray Ökten, in the Children-Education category, as a Silver Medal;

Doug Alderson

American Alligator: A Folk Tale of Our Most Famous Reptile by Doug Alderson, in the General Adult Non-Fiction category, as a Bronze Medalist;

Midtown Reader is hosting a conversation on "American Alligator," by Doug Alderson on April 23.

A Motley Mix: Mismatched Poems That Fit Together by Pat Stanford, in the Cookbook / Home and Garden category, as a gold medalist;

A motley mix: irrelevant poems that fit together by Pat Stanford, in the Adult Cover Design category, as the gold medal winner;

"A motley mix" by Pat Stanford.

Maurice Majszak’s historic Tallahassee, in the Coffee Table Book category, as bronze medalist;

Suzan E. Zan

From suffering to balm: my journey to happiness by Suzan E Zan, in the Poetry category, as a Silver Medal.

This prestigious national award was open to books published between 2019 and 2021 and nominations were judged by librarians, educators and publishing professionals.

Pat stanford

“We are proud to announce this year’s winners who truly epitomize the excellence this award was created to celebrate. Their works are representative of the creative storytelling, bold concepts and innovative ideas that make the President’s Book Awards so well respected by librarians and those in the publishing industry. We salute all of our winners for their excellent work. said FAPA President Renee Garrison.

Suzan E. Zan's collection,

The Florida Authors and Publishers Association is an organization for authors, publishers, illustrators, publishers, printers and other professionals involved in the publishing industry. It focuses on providing the highest quality information, resources and professional development to members and others interested in the writing and publishing profession.

For more information on the winning books and the organization, visit www.myFAPA.org.

Never miss a story: Subscribe to the Tallahassee Democrat using the link at the top of the page.


About Author

Comments are closed.