Edmonton publishers honored at Alberta Book Publishers Awards


Content of the article

University of Alberta Press, Athabasca University Press and NeWest Press were among the Edmonton and northern Alberta publishers honored at the 2022 Alberta Book Publishing Awards, held Sept. 16 in Calgary.

Content of the article

The University of Alberta Press won three awards, including Trade Non-Fiction Book of the Year for Impact: Women Writing After Concussion, edited by ED Morin and Jane Cawthorne. They also won the Robert Kroetsch Poetry Prize for Micheline Maylor’s The Bad Wife and Ken Haigh’s On Foot to Canterbury book design.

Content of the article

Edmonton publisher NeWest Press won the Book Design award for Coconut, a collection of poetry by Nisha Patel. Athabasca University Press won Regional Book of the Year for Bucking Conservatism, edited by Leon Crane Bear, Larry Hannant and Karissa Robyn Patton.

Laberinto Press, a small Edmonton publishing house focused on writers whose first language is not English, and translated world literature was recognized as Emerging Publisher of the Year.

The complete list of winners can be found on the Alberta Book Publishers Association website. A recording of the awards gala will be available on the BPAA YouTube channel in the next weeks.


About Author

Comments are closed.